Freak show.

We’ve all got problems that are not bipolar related. And like a normal human I get roped into other peoples problems. I guess this is when the bipolar part of my brain starts to get involved. I harbor a great deal of guilt, that’s no secret. So, I can easily get hung up on things that are not even my fault because I tend to make them my fault. That is when I separate myself from the situation and remind myself…

Not my circus, not my monkeys.

It’s a Polish proverb I learned a few years ago. That silly little sentence has stuck with me and it acts as a reminder that I can’t fix or control everything and that sometimes I need to prioritize and take care of myself first. I work my ass off for my stability, and I can’t let anyone or anything compromise that.

Leave a Reply

