The red death.

No this is not an Edgar Allen Poe story, I would like that better. This is about aunt flow and all her hormonal baggage. That woman seriously needs to get her shit together.

Here is a little background as to why I even think this is an important subject. I have endometriosis. For those of you who do not know what that is, I’ll try and explain. Basically the endometrial tissue that lines your uterus grows outside of your uterus, usually on the fallopian tubes and ovaries, or even non reproductive organs if you’re so lucky. Every month when you have your period and the endometrial tissue sheds from your uterus it also attempts to shed wherever your endometriosis it located. Because it has nowhere to go it just builds up. This is all very painful and can cause fertility issues and other medical complications. The biggest thing for me as of now is the pain. When I was 19 I had a laparoscopy for a definitive diagnosis and it was all removed via laser. I experienced a big decrease in pain for a couple years after that, but it is coming back with the time it has had to build up. The only way to control endometriosis if through birth control. Smaller or no period=no build up. Here is the problem: the hormones jack my shit up to say the least. My last depressive episode, with suicidal ideation and all, was due largely to trying birth control again for the first time since I tried it in high school and flew off my rocker.

Of all the gynecologists I have seen, none have been versed in how to prescribe birth control to women with bipolar. I am to the point where seeing an endocrinologist is probably my best and last option where that is concerned. If you are a bipolar female, chances are you are a lot like me when it comes to your time of the month. The hormonal changes make me flip shit. It seems like all of the happy and normality I have worked for all month is gone in the blink of an eye exactly a week before I start. I am talking hormonal mood swings, rapid cycling, extreme depression, rage, the whole lot.

I am currently on a medicine change vacation, but I have been tirelessly researching and conversing with my psychiatrist on the subject in preparation for when I am up and ready to go at it again. I am not looking for perfection, just a little more sense of being evened out.

Here is what we have found from my research and his discussion with colleagues:

The biggest thing for bipolar women is the rapid influx of hormone changes. Which you probably know any rapid influx of changes is enough to send up in a downward spiral. So when selecting a birth control with your doctor the one you choose needs to have a steady hormone supply throughout the month. Every pill needs to have the same amount. When it comes to the hormones themselves low estrogen with no projestin seems to be the best cocktail.

Sorry for the men reading this (not really because you’re the one that read all the way to the bottom and it’s not like it got gory or I used salsa or waterfall metaphors) And besides you wouldn’t be here without them.

I hope this helped someone!

Leave a Reply

